Little Bit Louder

Music I'm diggin'. I'm just thinking out loud.

Bangtan Boys (BTS)

“Don’t wanna be fool, wanna be cool, wanna be loved, same love as u, baby I want it…”

bts

At this rate I might as well just make this blog all about K-pop because that seems to be all I’m posting about these days. Truth is, I’m just a little bored with the same ol’ sounds from the same artists, so I’m sampling a new taste. Even though I might not understand what they’re saying, I actually quite enjoy it that way.

That being said, I recently just discovered this rookie hip-hop group, Bangtan, also known as BTS. The group is comprised of seven members: Rap Monster, J-Hope, Jin, Suga, Jimin, V and Jungkook. (And yes, most of those are stage names.)

bts7

The boys just released a new music video, “War of Hormone”, and it was being talked about all over Tumblr, which is how I found them. While the concept seems to be BTS expressing their obsession with girls, what caught my attention was the colors and theatricality in the video. Yes, I have a thing for theatrics. These boys are extremely expressive and it’s fun to watch. Check it out for yourself:


After stumbling across “War of Hormone” naturally I was curious as to what other songs and videos BTS had. I was surprised to find that a lot of their other content has a stronger influence of hip hop. It’s a bit darker then their latest release. Their main rappers, Rap Monster, Suga and J-Hope, are some of the best I’ve seen, as far as the younger K-pop groups go. They don’t shy away from adult topics, like other idols do, and their flow is so animated and cool. Here are some of their songs with a heavy rap focus:


Honestly, what I enjoy most about these K-pop idols is the fact that they dance. (The groups that present a more technically challenging dance number win me over quicker.) I think it’s because American and British boy bands don’t seem to dance anymore, so I always feel like there is something lacking performance-wise. Dancing just creates a stronger visual. The Bangtan Boys are beasts when it comes to choreography. I’ve watched several of their dance practice videos and they are full of energy and power. Check them out:



But while these seven studs might want us to think they’re rough and tough, after watching their show “BTS American Hustle Life,” that’s not the case. Throughout the eight-part series, the members fly to LA where they spend two weeks taking on challenges that are suppose to further educate them on hip-hop culture.

They were given two mentors and a number of celebrity guests dropped by to help train them. It was hard for me to believe that the same boys from the music videos were the ones on this show. Their broken English and awkward reactions to everything was extremely amusing. I got a kick out of the whole show and I could not stop laughing.

bts2bts3
bts5

I’ve only known about this group for a week, so I feel like there’s much more to discover. The image they present on stage is vastly different from who they are in real life, so I’m constantly surprised by what they do and say off stage. I suppose it’s more interesting that way. The fact that they can turn the bad boy personas on and off sets them apart from American artists. You can clearly see that hip hop is their passion, but they’re young so their general nature is more carefree. It’s endearing. I’m excited to have a new group to be a fan of and I can’t wait to see more.

Vibe: K-pop, hip hop, rap…
Favorite Song: Tough choice. Either “Look Here” or “Let Me Know”
Live: They’ve performed in LA, so hopefully they come back so I can catch a show!

8 comments on “Bangtan Boys (BTS)

  1. Pingback: Song of the Week: Mic Drop- BTS | Little Bit Louder

  2. Pingback: Obsessed: Not Today- BTS | Little Bit Louder

  3. Pingback: Obsessed: Dope- Bangtan Boys (BTS) | Little Bit Louder

  4. Pingback: New Album: The Most Beautiful Moment in Life Pt. 1- Bangtan Boys (BTS) | Little Bit Louder

  5. Pingback: Obsessed: Awakening- Rap Monster | Little Bit Louder

  6. Sharon Marodza
    November 21, 2014

    hear*

  7. Sharon Marodza
    November 21, 2014

    Wow I enjoyed this, as a fan on them myself I always like to here stories from new fans of how they discovered BTS. Anyway, you said you have known them for only a week but you already know all that about them wow thats great.

    • Hannah Mariko
      November 21, 2014

      Awh, thank you! I’m glad you liked it. When I discover a group that immediately catches my attention, I read and watch everything I can right away until I’m caught up. I can’t help it lol

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2014 by in artist, entertainment, music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
