Little Bit Louder

Music I'm diggin'. I'm just thinking out loud.

DΞΔN

“And she said if you like this it’s yours, it’s yours…”

dean

Amidst my love and discovery of K-pop music, I eventually stumbled upon Dean, a 23-year-old singer-songwriter-producer. Initially, I was confused as to what kind of an artist he was simply because the first song of his I had heard was completely in English, featuring an American artist. While it’s not unusual for Korean artists to include an English phrase or two, I’ve rarely been able to understand an entire song (unless it’s a cover). On the contrary, I understood every word of Dean’s single “I’m Not Sorry” ft. Eric Bellinger. The song immediately caught my attention and I’ve been a fan ever since.

Despite being born and raised in Korea, Dean’s English pronunciation is quite clear and it’s obvious that he has a good understanding of American style, trends and culture. I keep seeing fans and critics alike compare his music to that of artists like Drake and Bryson Tiller. Not bad company. In my opinion, Dean has the talent and style it takes to win over the American music market and I hope that he does. However, I’m happy to hear that he is starting to find success in Korea as well. I can’t wait to see what the rest of 2016 has in store for him. Until then, check out this live performance of “Put My Hands on You” and the music video for “Pour Up” ft. Zico:


Vibe: R&B, Hip Hop
Favorite Song: “I’m Not Sorry” and “Pour Up”
Live: I hope to catch a show. From the YT videos I’ve seen, he has great stage presence.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2016 by in artist, entertainment, K-pop, music, singer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
