Little Bit Louder

Music I'm diggin'. I'm just thinking out loud.

New Album: The Alter- Banks

“Tell me what you want from me. I think you need a weaker girl.”

banks

Now that I’m in school, it’s been difficult to keep up with all of my favorite artists. I’ve consistently missed new releases, but with Banks‘ second full-length album, The Alter, I’ve arrived just in time. I connected with Banks’ music long ago, and I’ve been a fan ever since. So naturally I was anticipating greatness– and she did not disappoint.

I won’t say that every track is a killer, but I was able to sit and listen to the entire album from start to finish…and that’s rare for me. While her sound did not differ drastically from previous records, if you were a fan of her music before, then you’ll enjoy this.

banks2

The song “Trainwreck” stood out to me the most because the fast(er) tempo was a bit out of character for Banks. It was nice to see her try something new without losing her signature dark pop and R&B sound. “Mother Earth” pulled on my heartstrings as well. I had read that this particular track meant a lot to Banks and was a great source of healing for her. I could sense that in the delivery of the song and the lyrics were just beautiful. A few other tracks that stood out were, “Weaker Girl”, “Lovesick”, “Gemini Feed” and “Haunt”. They each provided a small insight into the overall story that I believe Banks was trying to tell with this album. It was interesting to hear her transition from slow melodies tinged with sadness to dynamic tracks loaded with confidence.

banks1

Overall, The Alter will be one of my favorite albums of 2016, because the music is right up my alley. I’ve been listening to it all day and discovering something else I love about it each time. Congratulations to Banks for an amazing body of work.

The Alter is currently available for purchase on iTunes/Apple Music. Give it a listen!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2016 by in artist, entertainment, singer and tagged , , , , , , , .
