Little Bit Louder

Music I'm diggin'. I'm just thinking out loud.

Obsessed: New Rules- Dua Lipa

“And if you’re under him…you ain’t getting over him”

Dua Lipa. This is a name I’ve seen on social media on occasion, but I never took the time to check out her music. I now know that I’ve been missing out.

The music video for “New Rules”, a track from Lipa’s self-titled debut album, has been released and is quickly garnering attention. Not only is the video aesthetically pleasing, interesting and diverse, but the song itself had me dancing along from the very beginning. The track is dynamic, but simple enough that by the second chorus I could already sing along.

“New Rules” is a breakup anthem for all you girls out there. Through this song, Lipa shares a few rules to getting over your ex…for good.

1. “Don’t pick up the phone.”
2. “Don’t let him in.”
3. “Don’t be his friend.”

Sounds easy, right? Maybe it’s the fact that we’ve all been there, and know all to well how hard it is to leave an ex in the past (where they belong), but this song seems to resonate with the public. It sure caught my attention. Now, I have no choice but to check out Lipa’s debut album because if it’s anything like “New Rules” I’m going to love it.

P.S. I appreciate the diversity in this video. There’s such a strong sense of women empowerment being expressed in such a clever way. This video gets a 10/10 from me.

Dua Lipa.gif

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2017 by in artist, entertainment, music, singer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

